Home » Commentary » 2013 – 2014: The Year of Living Dangerously

2013 – 2014: The Year of Living Dangerously

As our leaders destroy our country and doom us to tax enslavement, I wonder what more it will take before we decide it is time to take back our country and our freedoms.

Once more, Congress and Obama are kicking the can down the road. They have raised the Debt Ceiling again and will be instituting over a trillion dollars in new taxes. All to pay for the most destructive law ever passed: ObamaCare.

The Democrats seek to destroy our sovereignty, to empower their supporters, and to entrench themselves in power. All at the expense of our country. And the Republicans are too weak-willed to fight them. At this point, they appear to be complicit.

As Americans, we have lived comfortably. The price for this comfort has been the sacrifices of our servicemen, and the inexcusable misappropriation of our treasury by corrupt politicians. We live so comfortably, that the idea of  risking what we have in order to change the status quo is frightening. The reality is, we live in a fool’s paradise.

With every luxury we have indulged in and every pop culture diversion we have been preoccupied with, we have eaten of the lotus and become apathetic. Our apathy has allowed our freedoms to be whittled away. Our heritage of liberty is being stolen from us. We literally can no longer afford this to continue. Our politicians have incurred such a huge national debt that it will soon destroy us. America, as a bastion of freedom, will be gone. We must finally demand that the Political Class stop the insanity of how things are being done.

But, how do we do this?

First, we need to stop waiting for a hero to come along. There is no one man or woman who is brave enough or smart enough or moral enough to lead us from our current state of affairs. No one man or woman will suffice. It will take countless men and women of courage and conviction, of principle and honor to do what must be done. It will take a critical mass of Americans who are willing to take to the streets and make their voices heard.

The second thing we must do is to starve the Leviathan. We must not pay our taxes this year. Or the next. Not until true reformation of government in America occurs.

We must individually risk destitution and/or imprisonment in order to enact this revolution. Critical mass will not occur until we begin, individually, to act. We can organize and coordinate our efforts, but unless we each are willing to do what it takes to save our nation, we, too, will continue to kick the can down the road of history. And all too soon, America itself will be history.

The time for a third party is nigh upon us. We must recognize that both major parties will not change. Those in leadership seek to feather their own nests, and no longer represent us or our needs. Nor do they intend to uphold the Constitution. The past four years have proven that.

So, am I willing to put my money where my mouth is? I honestly don’t know. To refuse to pay my taxes in an act of civil disobedience would put my wife and family in jeopardy of imprisonment and destitution. My wife does not share my views or passion for this nation. She is not as committed as I am to speaking out and doing what it takes to enact revolution. She is like the majority of Americans: Willfully ignorant of the political treason being committed by our politicians.

And, I don’t blame her. As the provider in our family, she works hard and focuses on our children. As I continue to search for work, I have the luxury to expound and philosophize. My wife does not have that luxury.

It would be far easier to blind myself through distraction and toil to the daily erosion of our liberties; to the intentional destruction of America. But, I can’t. And I won’t. “Never give up and never surrender.” That is our family motto. When that inevitable moment comes- that moment when the stakes are at their highest and life hangs in the balance- I don’t know if I will have the courage of my convictions and stand on principle. I would like to think that I will live my motto then. One thing I am certain of is, I am cursed with incredible tenacity. And an abiding love of God and country.

I have decided to stop waiting for the next Washington or Lincoln or Reagan. These were men of their times. But this is our time now. We have to act.

In this time of universal deceit, let us reach out to one another, Patriots, and organize. Let us form a viable third party dedicated to preserving and upholding the Constitution, to protecting our God-given rights, and to live as free men and women.

I believe our motto should remain, In God We Trust. Because without God, America has lost Her way. And the godless now hold sway.

Leave a Reply

